Growing up I had a set of Space Shuttle posters on my walls with the oddly triumphant tagline: “Going to work in space.” It was as if the Shuttle were a space station wagon commuting between the Cape and orbit.

I bought them on a visit in the early 1980s to Nasa in Washington DC, and that visit inspired me to study aeronautical and astronautical engineering. I gave that up after a year because my curiosity was a bit too broad. It’s a lull, but I have a feeling it won’t be long and the next small step will be even bolder.

I haven’t forgot those space dreams, although they seem even more distant than when I was a young boy. However, I had other dreams when I was young of travelling the world as a journalist. Those have come to pass in ways that I could have never imagined. I’m not counting my dream to go to space out just yet.

Via Flickr:
Space Shuttle Atlantis (STS-135) is seen atop a Mobile Launcher Platform (MLP) just prior to beginning its journey from High Bay 3 in the Vehicle Assembly Building to Launch Pad 39a for its final flight, Tuesday evening, May 31, 2011, at Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Fla. The 3.4-mile trek, known as "rollout," will take about seven hours to complete. Atlantis will carry the Raffaello multipurpose logistics module to deliver supplies, logistics and spare parts to the International Space Station. The launch of STS-135 is targeted for July 8. Photo Credit: (NASA/Bill Ingalls)

