Tags

, ,


Vodpod videos no longer available.

OK, that’s a bit of a morbid way of putting it. I don’t plan on dying anytime soon, but I fear that I’ve been putting things off for a while. When I moved to London in 2005, I didn’t know how long I would be here. When I left the US, I was told that it would be a year long assignment, but when I landed I was told that it might only be six months due to budget cuts. Then, six months grew into a year and a half, and then I changed jobs, and it’s almost four years later. Everything has had a temporary feel about it, even after I met Suw and we got married. I still feel as if I’m living out of a suitcase. Longer term plans that take a little time and preparation were put on hold.

It being a new year and old, I’ve thought about dusting off some old dreams and moving towards them. I’d really love to learn how to fly. Growing up, my family had a single engine plane, a Cessna 172. We used to fly it on short trips. My brother once took the passenger-side controls for a brief time, but I was too young ever to fly it before my parents sold it. It was one of the reasons why I was interested in flight and originally studied aeronautical and astronautical engineering at university. Looking at a video like this, it reminds me of why I have always been fascinated with flight, and it makes me want to commit to learn how to fly.

