Snow at home in Illinois, originally uploaded by Kevglobal.

I haven’t felt very much in a holiday mood for the last few years. It might have something to do with the fact that they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in England, which is a shame. But I am sure that it also has something to do with the fact that I’m used to snow and some proper wintry weather, growing up west of Chicago.

Coming home to celebrate Thanksgiving helped and now a blanket of snow has really done the trick. We’ve got a fire burning in our wood burning stove, and the house is snug and warm. The fire is crackling. I’m more in a holiday mood than I’ve been in years. I’m also more relaxed. I’m not thinking about work or much of anything right now. Suw and I want to spend the rest of the winter here. Sigh. If only we could.

