Tags

, ,


I won’t say that the title of this post is original. I could argue that I thought of it first, but that doesn’t quite fly. But I’ll give Mike Riggs at Reason magazine credit for inspriration to actually write this post. Mike has a great list of Carlin quotes that I’m sure you’ll enjoy.

“Some national parks have long waiting lists for camping reservations. When you have to wait a year to sleep next to a tree, something is wrong.”

“I’m completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death.”

“Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity.”

“If we could just find out who’s in charge, we could kill him.”

“Think off-center.”

Carlin’s case went all the way to the US Supreme Court. I saw him when I was at university in the early 1990s. He was more political than in this sketch, although there is an underlying political message here about free speech, but he was great. He was an amazingly thought-provoking comedian. Rest his f*!king soul.

