Tags

, , ,


With wedding plans and my normal level of busyness, I’m late in blogging about this, but a freak January tornado roared just south of my parents’ home in Illinois a week ago. My childhood home was spared, but Edwards Apple Orchard, where I went on countless school field trips and where I held my first job, was hit. The large barn that served as their store and storage and where they served apple cider, cider doughnuts and apple pie was flattened. The newspaper in nearby Rockford has video of the destruction. It sounds like they will carry on, but it won’t be quite the same without the old red barn.   Suw and I visited the orchard last September when I took her home so that her parents could meet my parents and so I could show her where I grew up. We had cider doughnuts and cool cider, not hard cider like here in the UK but unfiltered apple juice. 

