High Holborn test with a Polaroid Spectra AF, originally uploaded by Kevglobal.

A friend of mine back in Washington collects cameras, and in his collection, he has a few working Polaroid cameras. One is a Spectra, and I’ve always been impressed with the picture quality. He also had a large supply of beautiful Polaroid black & white film. He uses the camera to take candid snaps of friends and puts the pictures in a large ceramic bowl.

For out wedding, I thought it would be fun to get a Polaroid to take some quick snaps and then hand them out to friends at the wedding. I found a Spectra AF on eBay for a reasonable price. I picked up some film today, and the first test was a success. The colour isn’t brilliant, but then I was shooting up into a bright, albeit overcast sky. I’ve got two packs of film, but I hope to learn in one. At £20 for 20 exposures, it doesn’t feel cheap.

