I passed through Hong Kong briefly today on my way to Kuala Lumpur where I’m taking part in the citizen journalism conference. I had a seven hour layover, and I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see the city, especially seeing as I was the only one in my family who hadn’t been there.

The city was buzzing as they celebrated 10 years since the handover of rule from Britain to China. There were skydivers, these bright panda statues – one for each year since the handover in different colours. Tonight there will even be spectacular fireworks, which I had to miss. The flight to Malaysia was at 3.

The city itself was just amazing with these spindly high-rise apartments, really driving home the premium of space. I took the high-speed train from the airport, which was fast, convenient and easy. It took me from the airport to its terminus in Hong Kong in 20 minutes. I then took the ferry across the bay to Kowloon peninsula. I walked around there for a bit. I would have liked to explore a park there, but it wasn’t clear how to get in. But it really was a memorable – albeit extremely brief – visit to one of the world’s greatest cities.

technorati tags:, , , ,

