After last night’s Panorama propaganda about the evils of WiFi, I was going to write something expressing my outrage as a former BBC employee over the appalling lack of editorial standards that allowed such a piece of unbalanced, biased, unscientific nonsense to be presented as an exercise in rigorous journalism. However, it doesn’t really need me to pile on. I will leave you to read one of the many posts on the subject taking the BBC and the report to task. Or just read some of the comments on the BBC’s own Have Your Say site, which are by and large much more sensible and informed than the report.

But, I’ve decided that really, this isn’t something to get that upset about. In the fine tradition of Jonathan Swift, I decided to rethink my position in light of the overwhelming evidence provided by the programme. Heretofore, I thought that these lovely little hotspots only were harmless little radio transmitters. But after last night’s Panorama, I now realise, they emit ‘radiation’. I was a little confused by the report that they didn’t use a Geiger counter, which I thought detected radiation. Instead they used some radio wave power meter. I mean if radio waves are the same thing as radiation we’re really stuffed. The BBC transmitter at Crystal Palace kicks out 1000kW which blankets London in this ‘radiation’. And then as a friend pointed out, even light bulbs emit ‘radiation’. And what about radiators? They radiate. They even radiate heat and wasn’t it the ‘thermal effects’ that we are so worried about with mobile phones? We should start a campaign to take all radiators out of schools. Think of the children. The children!

In all seriousness, I would strongly suggest that British viewers actually call the BBC complaints line 08700 100 222. As a former BBC colleague suggested, phone calls are better than e-mails in this case and actual letters even more so.

technorati tags:, , , , ,

