I guess this says it all. I asked Suw, my partner in blogging and in life, to marry me last night. She said yes!

And I guess she’s OK with it, if her instant message response is anything to go by. We’re both happy. Well, that’s a bit of British understatement. Ecstatic. Yes, that definitely describes it.

I had planned to propose in Porto where Taylor-Fladgate, the famous port house, has a brilliant restaurant that overlooks the Douro River. But, we couldn’t get there until later this spring, and she told me not to propose in a restaurant. Also, it was getting to the point where there wasn’t going to be any surprise in it at all, which didn’t seem right.

Last night was Dydd Santes Dwynwen, Welsh Valentine’s Day, and Suw and I usually go out to have a romantic dinner to celebrate. It’s as good excuse as any. We went to Andrew Edmunds, which is both our favourite restaurant, and the place we went the first night we said we loved each other. It was magic and excellent as usual, although the dinner took a little longer than I had expected. I’m sure noticed that I was getting a little eager to move on after we ate.

I had planned to propose along the Thames because we took a walk after that first dinner at Andrew Edmunds (I agree with this review. One of the things we love about Andrew Edmunds is the wine list.) The London Eye was lit up beautifully that night when we first exchanged ‘I love you’s‘. But last night it was freezing, and I didn’t want my teeth chattering when I popped the question. My knee would have just as likely frozen to the pavement.

Instead, we headed over to the American Bar at the Savoy. It’s listed as one of the world’s best bars, and I agree with this:

If it was good enough for Hemingway, Scott Fitzgerald and Ira Gershwin you should manage.

We still had a great view of the Thames minus the freezing temperatures, and to top that, there was a great bar jazz piano player there. I wish I had got his name. Wonderful. I went over, told him I was going to propose to my girlfriend, asked him to play something nice and gave him a tip. He suggested the Frank Sinatra classic: The Way You Look Tonight. Perfect.

Some day, when I’m awfully low,
When the world is cold,
I will feel a glow just thinking of you…
And the way you look tonight.

Magic. Just magic. Beaming and effusive, he came over and congratulated us. Suw and I were a bit more than gushy. The staff were lovely and brought over strawberries to go with our Pol Roger champagne, which was perfect. They told us that we had to come back on our first, fifth and whenever anniversary. After the set, the piano player came over and told us that we’d made his night. Well, he made ours. We’re both still tearing up just looking at the lyrics.

With each word your tenderness grows,
Tearing my fear apart…
And that laugh that wrinkles your nose,
It touches my foolish heart.

Just the way you look tonight. Here’s to the love of my life, Suw.

